Yearbook 2016

Welcome to Hythe, Kent

‘Where the countryside meets the sea’ 

Hythe is a coastal community town on the edge of the Romney Marsh. The word Hythe or Hithe is an Old English word meaning Haven or Landing Place.

 Hythe is on the ‘Garden Coast’ in South Kent. Hythe is on a broad bay of the English Channel, and on a clear day you can see France. As an important Cinque Port, the town of Hythe once possessed a bustling harbour. It was the central Cinque Port of South Kent and East Sussex, sitting between Hastings and New Romney to the west and Dover and Sandwich to the east.

Hythe’s military history dates back to the Roman times. It was the original home to the School of Musketry. Today, Hythe Ranges is a major training area for the Ministry of Defence.

Hythe has many unique features including Medieval and Georgian buildings; the Royal Military Canal, built as a defence against Napoleon’s planned invasion but now a park; the church of St. Leonard, dating to Norman England with its large collection of ancient bones and skulls; and a seafront promenade with the still active Fisherman’s Beach with its attractive boats, fishmonger’s shop and Martello towers at its western end.

Hythe boasts one of the longest and best high streets in Kent with many specialist shops that attract visitors from all around.